Climate and Diversity Committee

January 2017

Membership: 6 faculty, 2 staff, 1 post-doc, 2 GS, and 1 UG

Charge: The Climate and Diversity Committee advises the Chair and the Physics Department on matters related to issues of climate and diversity. The committee consists representatives of all constituent groups of the department (undergraduates, grad students, postdocs, staff and faculty). The committee will evaluate and offer feedback on issues of climate and diversity, help develop strategies for fostering a welcoming and inclusive learning, research, and work environment, and report on new campus initiatives and national developments in the STEM sciences. As part of its assessment the committee should regularly survey the Physics community on issues of climate and diversity. The committee is expected to meet regularly and report at department meetings. The membership of the committee will be announced inorder to foster interactions and informal dialogue between the committee and the OSU Physics community. A meeting with a subset of the committee may be called at the request of the department Chair.

Specific Items:

- Conduct a set of surveys among faculty, staff and students to assess the current climate within the department and summarize the findings to the faculty, staff and students.
- Determine the best operational structure for the committee
- Determine what resources are available on campus to help with the committee's charge
- Determine whether there are trainings that would be helpful for committee members
- Make reports on committee progress in faculty and staff meetings

Members:

Richard Furnstahl (Faculty, Chair)
Beth Bushhong (Graduate)
Grace Calhoun (Undergraduate)
Brian Clark (Graduate)
Amy Connolly (Faculty)
Chris Hirata (Faculty)
Ezekiel Johnston-Halperin (Faculty)
Crystal Moloney (Staff)
Shelley Palmer (Staff)
Robert Perry (Faculty)
Chris Porter (Post-doc)

Nandini Trivedi (Faculty)