

Search for Next Chair

OSU Physics Department

Search Committee Membership

- Amy Connolly
- Philip Davids
- Jay Gupta
- Andrew Heckler
- Annika Peter
- Michael Poirier
- Susan Olesik, Chair

Charge of Committee

- Identify two candidates who are willing to serve in this role
- Candidates can be ranked or unranked
- The Executive Dean makes the final decision
- New chair should take the position on July 1

Proposed Attributes of New Chair

- Good leader
- Good manager of finances
- Strong advocate for research
- Effective communicator
- Effective in team building
- Effective in working with colleagues in defining a vision for future of the department
- Good interface between the department and other departments, our college and other colleges of the university
- Good advocate for the department
- Advocate for diversity
- Strong supporter of teaching mission

Proposed Process to find New Chair

- 1) Members of the search committee would like to meet with each faculty member to hear his/her thoughts on who might be the best chair. This will occur between now and the end of the year.
- 2) On January 4th a ballot (secret electronic) will be available that will include all full professors as "potential" candidates. We will ask you to rank first, second and third choices. The votes will be collected on January 8th.
- 3)After this ballot, the committee will have assembled data from their individual meetings and the ballot. If four five "potential" candidates become obvious, the committee will meet with those individuals to see if they are willing to consider becoming chair.
- 4)The committee would like to report back to the faculty on January 24th
- 5)In January or before, the committee will have similar meetings with the staff and a ballot for them to provide their feedback.

Proposed Process to find New Chair

 Once 3-4 candidates have been identified, they will be asked to make a brief presentation on where they think the department stands and what is needed in the next four years.

 Another vote for the top two candidates will occur after these presentations.

 The committee would like to get a decision on candidates by mid-February.



Committee members who will be trying to visit you

Bao, Lei	Connolly	Hirata, Christopher	Heckler	Orban, Chris	Peter
Beacom, John		Ho, Tin-Lun (Jason)		Pelz, Jonathan P.	
Beatty, James		Honscheid, Klaus		Perry, Robert J.	
Braaten, Eric		Hughes, Richard E.		Putikka, Bill	
Bundschuh, Ralf		Humanic, Thomas J.		Raby, Stuart	
Carpenter, Linda		ayaprakash, C. eschonnek, Sabine		Randeria, Mohit	
DeLucia, Frank C.				Schumacher, Douglass	
DiMauro, Louis F.		Johnston-Halperin, E.		Shigemitsu, Junko	
Durkin, L. Stanley		Kagan, Harris P.	OL II	Sooryakumar, R.	
Freeman, Richard R.	Supta	Kass, Richard	Olesik	Stamatikos, Michael	Poirier
Furnstahl, Richard J.		Kawakami, Roland Kilcup, Gregory P. Kovchegov, Yuri Kural, Comert		Trivedi, Nandini	
Gan, K.K.				Valdes Aguilar, Rolando	
Gauthier, Daniel				VanWoerkom, Linn	
Gramila, Thomas		Lafyatis, Gregory		Walker, Terrence	
Gruzberg, Ilya		Lemberger, Thomas R.		Wilkins, John W.	
Hammel, P. Christopher		Lisa, Michael A.		Winer, Brian L.	
Heinz, Ulrich		Lu, Yuan Ming		Yang, Fengyuan	
Hill, Christopher		Mathur, Samir		Zhong, Dongping	

Faculty and staff are welcome to also provide feedback to Susan Olesik, olesik.1@osu.edu; 614 292-0733